DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air 2 Range

Newbie here, just got my MA2 last week. Do love it but having the same range issues I read about here. I'm in the US so assuming it's in FCC mode but don't know how to tell. Either way I'm getting less than a mile, out roughly 4000 feet and it loses signal. Once over a lake and the other just in town from my house, each time got about the same range. Not impressed, so many videos I watched before buying showed the only real limit being the battery, folks getting 5 miles then battery bitting 50% so they turned around but still had great signal. Now I know interference plays a huge role, but I'm in a small town, don't expect much wifi interference, had phone in airplane mode, bluetooth off, doesn't seem to help much. There are a lot of trees but again when I flew it accross the frozen lake wide open space it was the same issue. Any thoughts on the range issue? I have yet to go out to the true country away from totally everything, but I'm far enough away from things that my phone doesn't see any wifi signals to directly interfere with it so not sure being out in BFE will make much difference honestly, but will still try it.

Hello from the Hoosier Heartland exz5string.

Newbie here, just got my MA2 last week. Do love it but having the same range issues I read about here.

I too have been reading about it.

My MA2 has been in hibernation during the winter and I haven't updated anything lately.

Side note, what part of Michigan are you in? Upper / Lower?

I used to snowmobile in Michigan and rode across lot of lakes.

Welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Hi all,