DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Air DJI Go 4 - Remote Controller Connection Error

burnsie50

Reactions
Hi I am very new to this, and I am having problems using the DJI Go 4 App with my Mavic Air
AC Firmware - 01.00.0500
RC Firmware - 01.00.0200
App Version is 4.3.12

Sometimes when I start the app it tells me I need a Firmware Update. That never gets past 5% using the app. Other times the app will tell me that I am using the latest version.

I updated the Drone using the DJI Assistant program on my PC. When I plug the RC into the computer, it makes the tone recognizing a USB device has been plugged in, but then the tone that it has been disconnected. This continues on a loop and the DJI Assistant program never recognizes that the RC has been connected.

When I fly the drone, I never get more than 5 minutes before the error appears on the app screen. I am still able to use the RC to fly the drone back to me. but have no control over the app or the camera.

I have used a different cable to try to connect the RC to the computer. I have also used the USB A 2.0 connection on the Remote to connect to my smart phone. Same error every time. I am using an LG G7 with Android 8.0.0. I contacted DJI Support. They weren't much help. He provided a link to the video on how to link the RC to the Drone. I am not having trouble there. I use the button method, rather than the app to connect to the Mavic. The DJI Support suggested I mail back the RC, but that doesn't seem right to me. It's a week old. I would have to pay to ship it China, and be without my drone in the meantime??

I have read some of these forums and they suggest the cable that comes with the Drone is no good. I have tried connecting two ways with the same result.

I appreciate any help , this is very frustrating.
Thanks
Burns

Confusing...might try a different phone.

If you are in the USA, why would you need to ship the controller to China?