DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro Controller Communication Limits?

Reelman67

Reactions
I am a relative newbie to the forum but my question is this....having a Mavic Pro....what constitutes an obstruction to the controller, such that communication would cease? I am referring to a video I just posted this morning where a respondent wished that I had overflown the Satsop cooling tower for a look downwards into the interior. I did not due to my concern that I would loose sight of the Mavic totally due to the massive concrete and steel structure itself, and perhaps lose control. I do not want to purposefully have the Mavic return on automated responses due to lack of controller communication. I was close to the tower (within 200'), and looking up, it is a gargantuan structure, and once reaching the top, to fly over the opening, would totally remove the drone from my view. It was a chance I did not want to take. Was I correct in my assessment of the situation? Comment?

Obstructions can be structures, but a similar concern could be radio interference. You exercised good judgment by not flying outside VLOS, and not taking the risk.