Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Mavic Pro & iPad

A1CMavic

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I recently ordered a used iPad Air 2 in hopes of flying it with my Mavic Pro. The iPad has the ability to have cell service, but no SIM card installed currently. Is it worth flying with the iPad or should I continue to fly with my iPhone XS Max? If I fly with the iPad, what problems (if any) might I expect to run into?
 

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
19,546
Reaction score
10,266
Loc
Harrisburg, PA (US)
The iPad has the ability to have cell service, but no SIM card installed currently. Is it worth flying with the iPad or should I continue to fly with my iPhone XS Max?
Do you need to use features that require an Internet connection while flying? If so, using an Internet connected device would be a must-have. You could also set up a hotspot on your mobile phone and connect the tablet to that Wi-Fi network to share the Internet access.
 

JMar1017

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
5
To confirm - the air 2 is compatible with DJIGO4?

I have a 2nd gen iPad and sadly I found out that it's not compatible due to the processor in that iPad.
 

Keule

must stop buying things
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
1,339
Reaction score
735
Loc
48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
To confirm - the air 2 is compatible with DJIGO4?

I have a 2nd gen iPad and sadly I found out that it's not compatible due to the processor in that iPad.
An iPad 2 is a 32bit device and therefore not compatible with current GO4
iPad AIR 2 is a 64bit device and runs GO4.
 

JMar1017

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
5
An iPad 2 is a 32bit device and therefore not compatible with current GO4
iPad AIR 2 is a 64bit device and runs GO4.
Thanks for the info. Looks like I'll be picking up an air 2.

I was reading something on another forum about some pilots having issues with full screen usage using iPads in general. Is this accurate?

I'm more of a droid user so my knowledge base on apple is beginner at best.
 

Keule

must stop buying things
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
1,339
Reaction score
735
Loc
48°18'25"N 11°52'10"E
I was reading something on another forum about some pilots having issues with full screen usage using iPads in general. Is this accurate?
It could be with iPad pros (3rd gen) that GO4 does not make use of the whole screen.
I am running an iPad Pro 2nd gen and GO4 uses the full screen.
 

Mr. Salty

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
1,970
Loc
Iowa
You could also set up a hotspot on your mobile phone and connect the tablet to that Wi-Fi network to share the Internet access.
This is what I do. I turn on my iPhone's hotspot and connect my iPad Pro to it via Wi-Fi. Never had a problem.

I was reading something on another forum about some pilots having issues with full screen usage using iPads in general. Is this accurate?
No. Some of the new iPad Pro models have slightly different resolutions and Go4 isn't optimized for them, at least not yet. But even then there are only slight black bars on the sides of the screen. They still work just fine.
 

JMar1017

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
13
Reaction score
5
It could be with iPad pros (3rd gen) that GO4 does not make use of the whole screen.
I am running an iPad Pro 2nd gen and GO4 uses the full screen.
Okay - cool.

I've been looking for a bigger screen and something that I can use other than my phone as it's a pain to take the otterbox off and put it back on all the time lol

I appreciate your help.