DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Metal take-off pad not a good idea.

webfishnz

Reactions
Hi all - just a very quick suggestion after today's flight. I'm pretty new to drones and have had me first (Air) for about 6 months. Everything has gone smoothly.

Today, the device was green for go with a strong GPS and ready to fly. I looked around for a smooth flat take-off surface. and for the first time placed the Air on the bonnet of my 4WD ... BAD idea. The compass went into meltdown. I had a couple of goes at calibrating the compass and she was ready to again.

Anyway, this is just a suggestion to anyone out there novice or otherwise. Keep clear of large metal objects before flight.

This is mentioned in the manual...

There are also several other interesting insights in there, if you'd care to read it ;P

Reactions: Kilrah
Hi all - just a very quick suggestion after today's flight. I'm pretty new to drones and have had me first (Air) for about 6 months. Everything has gone smoothly.

Today, the device was green for go with a strong GPS and ready to fly. I looked around for a smooth flat take-off surface. and for the first time placed the Air on the bonnet of my 4WD ... BAD idea. The compass went into meltdown. I had a couple of goes at calibrating the compass and she was ready to again.

Anyway, this is just a suggestion to anyone out there novice or otherwise. Keep clear of large metal objects before flight.
Sorry, but YOU DID WHAT???!!!! But thanks for sharing

Last edited:
Yeah, okay sounds stupid in hindsight.

I have read the manual .... to a point. But heck, if you read every word and managed to absorb it all you'd never spend time in the air. :)

Reactions: Goof
Many of us don't dare to test what happens if we use a metal surface for takeoff.

So, thanks for sharing.

Reactions: shotes