DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 2 Crash Please Help!

I've been practicing modeling for 30 years now: (school of airplanes, helicopters, cars and drones) I'm a semi-professional and I know very well how our drones work.
This is not to say that I am wrong to do this calibration, but it has always been on my CHECK LIST.
CALIBRATE THE COMPASS
Lots of people still believe the myth.
DJI has contributed to it with very poor wording in their manuals for years until just recently.
But we know better nowdays.
If you understand what calibrating your compass actually does, you understand why it's completely unnecessary to do it before each flight and doesn't make anything safer or better.

Read the link I posted above and find out the facts.

If you understand what calibrating your compass actually does, you understand why it's completely unnecessary to do it before each flight and doesn't make anything safer or better.
Maybe I don't completely understand how does it work and so on, but even DJI says in the manual of my drone to calibrate it. Sorry, but I trust the manufacturer of the drone more, it's their product, they know better (I guess).
Then if it flies away and after log inspection it was because the compass was not calibrated I can't blame the people that told me that it is not necessary to calibrate...
1648624014067.png
I'm flying my Mavic Air 2 for 8 months, calibrating before flying in a new location, never had a problem.
So this is why I will continue doing so.

If you don't agree, it's fine, you do whatever you want with your drone, don't calibrate it if you don't want, but don't argue with me about this, because what I know for sure, is that calibrating the compass doesn't make the situation worse.