DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 2 gets Warm

moparherb

Reactions
Just a quick question. Sometimes before I fly I will put a battery in my Mini 2 and turn on the controller and maybe take a few minutes to check out the settings before I go outside to fly. This usually takes me a few minutes and I may even start the motors up just to make sure everything is good. When I shut the drone down it feels warm on both sides, I assume this is the battery. Is this normal? No flight actually took place. I’m new to this so I’m just making sure that everything is as it should be.

@moparherb yes this is normal,the Mini doesn't have an internal fan so it dissipates heat from the air movement over it as it flies ,a good way to help it keep its cool, is to use a small desk fan blowing over it when you are doing checks or firmware updates with it connected and on

Just a quick question. Sometimes before I fly I will put a battery in my Mini 2 and turn on the controller and maybe take a few minutes to check out the settings before I go outside to fly. This usually takes me a few minutes and I may even start the motors up just to make sure everything is good. When I shut the drone down it feels warm on both sides, I assume this is the battery. Is this normal? No flight actually took place. I’m new to this so I’m just making sure that everything is as it should be.
Totally normal. And if you let it sit powered on for too long itll get even hotter but it'll give you a notification warning to shut it down and let it cool off before flying if you let it sit too long , its not good for the life of the battery is why. Another thing bad for the overall battery life is charging the battery while still warm, so let them cool off for 15 minutes in the the open air b4 attempting to charge ?