DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Minneapolis/St. Paul area

Hi from Corcoran!
I'm new to the MP forum and the drone adventure in MN. I was wondering about the 3 Rivers Park system and what they have by way of restrictions on drone flights. Being close to Crow Hassen there is a lot of open space out there I'd like to fly.
Other options I have pondered are basic industrial parks scattered around the cities. Not much to look at, but larger space and not much traffic.
I'd enjoy getting together if that still on anyones "radar"!
Yes, we live close to Cleary Lake, and The Landing. In order to fly in the parks, you need a permit according to the Three Rivers website. I live in Belle Plaine and there are a number of places I can fly around here. A lot of open farmland and the Minnesota River valley.

Thanks tleonhar! Looks like I will not be flying there.

Interesting update, I just checked their website, it says we need a permit to fly a drone, but when we cluck on the link, they only talk about commercial and professional photography, this is a change from last year. It almost exempts us for recreational. Did I discover a loophole??? Anyway here's the site, click on the link for drones. Public Safety | Three Rivers Park District

Ahh... The legendary "loop hole"! I like it! :)Thumbswayup
I looked at the link and come to the same conclusion as you have. I guess it may be worth printing out the web page which states "professional" for reference if I get questioned. Every interaction I have ever had with the HC Park Service has be great!
Thank you for the update!
...now for the wind to die down...

Reactions: tleonhar