DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Moving Up from DownUnder

Rog42

Reactions
Hey MavicPilots,

I've been a Spark Pilot since July 2017 with over 15 hours flight time, over almost 60 km (59,359m to be precise) and 137 flights in 5 countries.

So not exactly a n00b.

Since crashing (and temporarily I hope) losing my Spark a couple of week-ends ago, I've brought forward my plans to take the next seniority step in my Remote Pilot career, and get the Mavic. Also, hoping to find the Spark from above the trees where it crashed (to be fair I was also piloting a boat, towing a wakeboarder at the time) as we couldn't find it from below.

So I've taken delivery of my new Mavic, and easing into this world. I have to say, compared to the Spark there are already things I'm struggling with - like:
  • Needing a cable to connect the Remote to the iPad - why can't I just use WiFi (or am I misisng something)
  • Batteries charging serially.... ...I'm going to need more batteries. Although I'm guessing double the flight time means my 3 batteries will be enough for the 6 I need with the Spark
  • Length of time to fly. The Spark is "Connect, ensure GPS, and Go" the Mavic seems to be "Unfold, unclamp, Connect (or not), find a suitable landing spot, calibrate half a dozen things, ensure your colour correction is set, REMEMBER to focus, wait for the planets to align, take off and go" I know, I know, I'm exaggerating, and I'm new. So perhaps I'll get there. But it all seems very unwieldy at the moment
  • The size. Everyone on YouTube raves about how small the Mavic is. I'm struggling with how massive this thing is. All perspective I guess.
Don't get me wrong, I'm certainly not dissing the drone by any stretch of imagination. After all I just invested AU$2k in it. I'm just getting used to things.