Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

My Mavic Pro 2 is Dangerous during compass calibration.

DRCRAWL

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Age
42
Location
Atascadero
Be Careful. While calibrating the compass on my MP2P the blades turned on for a second and cut my finger in three places before it shut off again. I bleed for 3 days it cut so deep. Not sure why this happened. I was holding the drone firmly but I always tend to keep my pinky finger floating for some reason. Make sure to grasp your drone with all fingers tightly affixed to the drone when calibrating the compass.
 

Camino Ken

Fair Weather Flyer
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 12, 2019
Messages
403
Reaction score
493
Age
68
Location
Camino, CA
First of all, sorry that happened to you.

I have a M2P and have never seen this or even heard of the propellers running while doing the compass dance before. I was wondering if you did something unique like picking it up to fast, or accidentally touching the controller sticks, etc.
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
11,580
Reaction score
14,449
Location
Los Alamos, NM
First of all, sorry that happened to you.

I have a M2P and have never seen this or even heard of the propellers running while doing the compass dance before. I was wondering if you did something unique like picking it up to fast, or accidentally touching the controller sticks, etc.
Agreed - there's no functionality to start the props without either activation by CSC or the auto takeoff button. The flight DAT log will show the cause of the motor start.
 

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
6,066
Reaction score
2,273
Age
54
The only "uncommanded" movement I've ever gotten from any DJI is the slight 10 or so degree movement during power up.

Very strange.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DRCRAWL

DRCRAWL

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Age
42
Location
Atascadero
Sorry you were hurt.

Best SOP (standard operating procedure) is to remove all props prior to any* non-flight power on process.

*Exception being while measuring dynamic vibration on each prop, done one at a time.
LOL makes sense. Wish I would have thought of that before hand.
 

DRCRAWL

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Age
42
Location
Atascadero
Agreed - there's no functionality to start the props without either activation by CSC or the auto takeoff button. The flight DAT log will show the cause of the motor start.
Yeah, caught me off guard. As someone pointed out below, i'll be removing the blades when it asks for this again.
 

Camino Ken

Fair Weather Flyer
Premium Pilot
Joined
Dec 12, 2019
Messages
403
Reaction score
493
Age
68
Location
Camino, CA
Do you know why the props started? It is defective?
 
  • Like
Reactions: DRCRAWL

Flycaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
1,111
Reaction score
676
Location
Moraga, CA
That's why no matter what, if you power up your drone for whatever reason inside the house, take off the darn props!
 
  • Like
Reactions: DRCRAWL

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
11,580
Reaction score
14,449
Location
Los Alamos, NM
That's why no matter what, if you power up your drone for whatever reason inside the house, take off the darn props!
That should not be necessary, and there was almost certainly a direct cause of the motor start in this case. However, since the OP is apparently not going to post the log file it is going to remain unknown.
 

Flycaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
1,111
Reaction score
676
Location
Moraga, CA
Well, yes, I guess if you plan fly indoors, then you need the props.
But I think it is still an unnecessary risk if you power up the bird for maintenance/updates or anything.
Alot going on inside these "birds", and all you need is 1 hiccup/bit to flip, and the motors can start to spin.

Not worth the risk to me....
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
11,580
Reaction score
14,449
Location
Los Alamos, NM
Well, yes, I guess if you plan fly indoors, then you need the props.
But I think it is still an unnecessary risk if you power up the bird for maintenance/updates or anything.
Alot going on inside these "birds", and all you need is 1 hiccup/bit to flip, and the motors can start to spin.

Not worth the risk to me....
Agreed for non-standard stuff. It should not be necessary to remove the props just to do a compass calibration though.
 

gajman

Active Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
26
Reaction score
8
Location
Salt Lake City, Utah
I agree when inside, take the props off. Just not that hard to put back on. Probably a good time to take a good look at them anyway.
 

gajman

Active Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
26
Reaction score
8
Location
Salt Lake City, Utah
In all honesty, I have never had my M2P spin up on me while calibrating the compass. I normally calibrate it by grabbing it by the bottom, but that can be dangerous getting under it to pick it up. This is an absolute mystery to me. You had not taken off and landed, you did your usual inspection, went through your checklist and the software prompted you to a compass cal. and it then spun up. I have never had that happen in 84 flights, and I do a compass cal every time as a matter of routine, just part of my checklist.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DRCRAWL

DRCRAWL

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2020
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Age
42
Location
Atascadero
In all honesty, I have never had my M2P spin up on me while calibrating the compass. I normally calibrate it by grabbing it by the bottom, but that can be dangerous getting under it to pick it up. This is an absolute mystery to me. You had not taken off and landed, you did your usual inspection, went through your checklist and the software prompted you to a compass cal. and it then spun up. I have never had that happen in 84 flights, and I do a compass cal every time as a matter of routine, just part of my checklist.
correct