DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My take on the Mavic case...

kodiak1120

Reactions
I've been flying drones for about four years now... I've had everything from a TBS Discovery, to 250 racing-style quads. I've always gone with a hard case. Usually a Pelican-style case with pull-and-pluck foam. They're good cases and provide good protection, but the I really like the idea of a soft case for the Mavic, mostly because of how portable the Mavic is. Putting it in a huge, waterproof case just seems to go against the design of the Mavic.

I liked the official Mavic bag from DJI, but for $80, I really don't think it's worth it. Also, it seems like it may be too small, and fitting the controller seems to be somewhat problematic. Also, it's not a backpack, so taking no a hike, for example, would probably be less than ideal.

Thus, I began my search. I checked out several DSLR backpacks, but most were too big for my tastes. I found this model on Amazon and thought it looked nice:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PV0IEDY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I got it for $25.99, but it looks like it's $39.99 now. Anyway, I liked the size and the style. It comes with padded dividers that attach via Velcro. I was hoping to be able to situate the dividers to accommodate the Mavic. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to work with the stock dividers, so I decided to try to design my own foam insert.

I tried to find foam locally, but nothing I found could work. Thus, I decided to try ordering a custom-made foam insert from www.mycasebuilder.com.

I wanted to make sure I had the interior dimensions right before ordering, so I create a prototype with some stiff foam I bought locally. Here's some pictures of my first attempt:

9bVNfwp.jpg

V5OlKTx.jpg

9OdYSgL.jpg

3NqQy6S.jpg