DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

ND Filters: Polarized vs. Non-Polarized for easiest/best video quality?

TrayBoz

Reactions
I know very little about photography.

I want to get a good set of ND filters for my Mavic 2 and need help. I'm not interested in still pictures from the mavic 2, just videos. I'm looking at the $50-$80 price range.

I know that polarization is to minimize glare when filming over water. I have polarized sunglasses so I understand the concept.

My question is: Do I need both polarized AND non-polarized lenses? (I'm NOT a professional photographer - I just want good vacation videos.) Is there any reason NOT to shoot with a polarized ND filter ALL the time?
i.e.: When would I remove a ND8PL filter and replace it with just a ND8 filter? Do you ever need a polarized filter if you're not shooting over water?

Any hints/help is much appreciated.
My apologies if this has been discussed elsewhere already.

Very few situations except over water that a polarized filters is of any benefit and some where they can actually create issues. Many that have the complete set will never use or benefit from the PLs.

Last edited:
I know very little about photography.

I want to get a good set of ND filters for my Mavic 2 and need help. I'm not interested in still pictures from the mavic 2, just videos. I'm looking at the $50-$80 price range.

I know that polarization is to minimize glare when filming over water. I have polarized sunglasses so I understand the concept.

My question is: Do I need both polarized AND non-polarized lenses? (I'm NOT a professional photographer - I just want good vacation videos.) Is there any reason NOT to shoot with a polarized ND filter ALL the time?
i.e.: When would I remove a ND8PL filter and replace it with just a ND8 filter? Do you ever need a polarized filter if you're not shooting over water?

Any hints/help is much appreciated.