DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Air Pilot

bmoore1118

Reactions
I am new to flying and have only had my air for 1 week. I am a still photographer and a trained pilot so a drone sounded like the next fun hobby to get into :). I am doing this more for fun than making money. I was wondering what people like to do with them? I love flying it but trying to find some fun things to do with it (fun videos and photos to take). I am used to using 20+ MP cameras and making great prints. Shotting raw on the drone what would be a good size i could print?

Also I have registered the drone and got state farm insurance but if i am not doing this commercial would the faa license make sense. The test is kind of expensive.

We’re all waiting on the newest guidelines to be released by FAA in regards to the 10/2018 legislation. For now your good if you are only flying recreationally.

I am new to flying and have only had my air for 1 week. I am a still photographer and a trained pilot so a drone sounded like the next fun hobby to get into :). I am doing this more for fun than making money. I was wondering what people like to do with them? I love flying it but trying to find some fun things to do with it (fun videos and photos to take). I am used to using 20+ MP cameras and making great prints. Shotting raw on the drone what would be a good size i could print?

Also I have registered the drone and got state farm insurance but if i am not doing this commercial would the faa license make sense. The test is kind of expensive.

The camera on the Mavic Air is honestly pretty average for stills, nothing even remotely close to the cameras you are likely used to using (I assume DSLRs).