DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New to drones and need some experienced help

Mick Tonks

Reactions
Hi guys i hope you are all well . I am new to flying drones and purchased a mavic air 2 combo . I have registered my drone paying £9 and completing the online course . I have a question to ask if I may I am aware that I am unable to fly no more than 50m close to buildings and 150m near built up areas . But what if your are stood inside the built up areas and you want to fly around a structure say operating the drone 60m away from the subject and you have buildings either side of you less than 30m away from me while taking off . The reason I'm asking is that there are plenty of footage on youtube showing city centre fly overs. Like I mentioned , I'm new to this hobby and I don't want to do something stupid due to my inexperience . Kindest regards .

Hi, and welcome to the forum :)

I would suggest you can't fly in a built up area - period. Any footage taken in built up areas is going to be by pilots who have got the qualifications to do this, have permission (if needed) and have adequate liability insurance.

Unless it's not QUITE legit, of course!

Hi, and welcome to the forum :)

I would suggest you can't fly in a built up area - period. Any footage taken in built up areas is going to be by pilots who have got the qualifications to do this, have permission (if needed) and have adequate liability insurance.

Unless it's not QUITE legit, of course!
hi there Thank you for your info . I know I have a lot to learn . I want to be safe and use my drone correctly . I had an idea that what you mentioned would be the case , more common sense really , but I wanted to know other people's opinions