DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newb Questions: USA Flight Permissions: FAA Authorizations, Geozone Unlocking, Etc

ZaphodFtW

Reactions
Hello, all. I am brand new to drones (and flying anything for that matter) and am trying to work my way through the legal requirements to fly. I'm not sure which steps are necessary and which are not. (I did formerly work as an engineer at Lockheed Martin so I'm familiar with many technical aspects of aircraft and flying, have actually taught mission planning systems to F-16 pilots and have worked with many Air Force pilots over the years - I've just never had to deal with the details of actually flying!)

I live in the USA, in Class D airspace, due to my proximity to Naval Air Station / Joint Reserve Base Fort Worth (formerly Carswell AFB). According to maps on FAA DroneZone and other sources, my altitude limitation in this restricted airspace is 200 feet at my home, 400 feet a bit south of my home. Here's what I have done so far:

- I have created an account on the FAA DroneZone as a recreational drone pilot, (Exception For Recreational Flyers)
- I have registered my drone with the FAA through DroneZone
- I requested, and received from the FAA, a wide area authorization to fly in this Class D airspace with certain special provisions. (For example, I have to call base flight ops every time I want to fly, cannot fly in the special security overlay close in to the runway without additional authorization.) But I DID get that authorization and it only took 2 days!
- I have registered my drone with DJI FlySafe.