DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie Here

dondford

Reactions
New member here, total newbie with drones. Retired with plenty of time on my hands and always thought drones were neat, have several ideas on how to use a drone for fishing and hunting. Ordered a "beginner" drone and it should be here tomorrow. My idea is to learn the basis with this drone and if all goes well (and I'm not completely overwhelmed) I will move up to a better drone.
Regards,
Don

New member here, total newbie with drones. Retired with plenty of time on my hands and always thought drones were neat, have several ideas on how to use a drone for fishing and hunting. Ordered a "beginner" drone and it should be here tomorrow. My idea is to learn the basis with this drone and if all goes well (and I'm not completely overwhelmed) I will move up to a better drone.
Regards,
Don
Welcome to the forum.
Be prepared for a surge of well wishers, welcomers and greeters!
Expect some encouragement in getting your T.R.U.S.T. certificate
and other useful tips and suggestions as you begin your new journey.
Your life will never be the same!

Hello from the Crossroads of America dondford.

Nice to meet you Don. 🤝

If you haven't done it yet, you need to take the TRUST test and keep a copy with you when you fly.

It's a free no fail test that's easy to take that covers the basics of flying a drone.

Depending on what you are flying, it may need to be registered with the FAA.

Here's an app that will help you check your airspace before flights and may be able to get permission to fly if you fly near an airport.

Good luck, have fun, and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Welcome from Bakersfield.
My idea is to learn the basis with this drone and if all goes well
Keep reading the Advice and posts on this forum and you will go Far