DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie to Drone

vensyd

Reactions
Hi Guys,

Am very new to whole Drone thingy and new here as well.

I been a still photographer for a while now (as a Hobby) and IT by profession, now looking forward to get into Drones.

I don't want to spend $$$ too much to get my first Drone. If I can handle well then can upgrade to top one.

For Beginner what is the best DJI Drone i should be looking into and should be something I can keep it for while to do some advanced as well.

By budget would be around 1000$

Thanks

Well, there will be few kinds of recommendations, summed up like this: Mavic Mini, Mavic Air and (probably) Spark (although old, still an option). Your budget will get you Mini or Air Fly more combo easily. I would still vote for Air, simply because it is much better. Yes, mini is even smaller, it's battery is more capable, but it's more toy like, various non DJI like problems (please, go through forum, you'll find everything there). I wanted to get Mini myself, decided to hold after reading, seeing and hearing things I didn't hear about Air. Sure, Air is not perfect, just not that much... Fragile? Anyway, Air gets my vote. All the other drones are far more expensive and not beginner drones anyway.

Reactions: old man mavic
Welcome the the forum vensyd.

AUD$1000 ? not going to get an Air here for that, even the basic drone and battery etc.

Maybe a Refurbished Mavic Pro Platinum (MPP) ?
Kogan have then for a touch over a grand .. .. ..

You can get the Platinum in the Flymore package for just under $1500 (highly recommended, one battery wears off quickly !).

That's just 2 that came up in a Google search pretty quickly, there may be more or better deals in Oz on the MPP or other.

The original M1P (Mavic Pro), MPP (Mavic Pro Platinum) are both pretty much obsolete now, the M1P is virtually unavailable here now, the Platinum looks like it's getting harder to find.