DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Process workflow

Moura

Reactions
Hi, im photographer, but im new to video process.
I bought a mavic 2 pro, and i saw that it make fantastic 4k movies. In this point i want to ask if i have advantage of filming in 4k and .mov format as i have a good PC monitor but is not 4k.
I saw too that .mov can not be played on PC in normal players, is there any program to play .mov files on PC? Also the edit program i am not sure wich i will use, premiere ou resolve.
Thanks

You don't need a 4K monitor to edit 4K footage - in fact 4K monitors often present more problems than they're worth depending on what else you do with your PC. Far more important is that your monitor is calibrated properly, and capable of holding a proper calibration.

VLC media player will play .mov or anything else, and it's free. I'd suggest shooting in .MP4 though for better overall compatibility and no downside.

I think most people use DaVinci Resolve because it's the only free program with a fully professional suite of features. Premiere is the gold standard but it is extremely expensive ($20 USD/mo) so unless videos are part of your livelihood or a primary hobby, you might consider just sticking with Resolve.

Reactions: Moura
You don't need a 4K monitor to edit 4K footage - in fact 4K monitors often present more problems than they're worth depending on what else you do with your PC. Far more important is that your monitor is calibrated properly, and capable of holding a proper calibration.

VLC media player will play .mov or anything else, and it's free. I'd suggest shooting in .MP4 though for better overall compatibility and no downside.