DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Remote ID Module Question for Older Drones

Ramboat

Reactions
I have 5 older drones registered under part 107. Can I use one Remote ID Module to fly these drones recreationally only or do I need a separate module for each drone? Thanks.

I have 5 older drones registered under part 107. Can I use one Remote ID Module to fly these drones recreationally only or do I need a separate module for each drone? Thanks.
Are all 5 of those drones more than 250g?

My understanding is that under part 107 you need one RID per drone. If you want to fly those drones recreationally, then you can un-register then under part 107 and use one RID for all of them since they will all be using your recreational registration. But I'm not a lawyer, and don't even play one on TV.

As noted here, all drones that are registered must comply with the RID requirements. That means all drones registered under Part 107 (even those weighing less than 250 grams) must be equipment with RID.

I have 5 older drones registered under part 107. Can I use one Remote ID Module to fly these drones recreationally only or do I need a separate module for each drone?
You can also fly those drones recreationally, but they each need their own RID module since they have been registered under Part 107. The serial numbers for those RID numbers should have been assigned to the individual drones when you registered them. Or you should update your Part 107 registrations if that hasn't already been done.

You can only swap an RID module between drones that have been registered under the Exception for Limited Recreational Operations.

Can I use one Remote ID Module to fly these drones recreationally only.....
If you want to fly those drones recreationally, then you can un-register then under part 107 and use one RID for all of them.....