DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RTH Altitude Ascent and Battery Overcurrent Discharge Warning

rydoleary

Reactions
Hey all -

I'm new to flying, but I've been cautious in beginner mode getting a handle on the settings and controls. Today I decided to play around a little more practicing manual landing and take offs and playing around with camera settings at relatively low alts outside of beginner mode. I've been a bit nervous to really use any 'autonomous' features because I'd rather be in control of my mavic instead of software, but I figured the space was large enough to try out Active Tracking and an RTH landing. So, I tried it - reached the height of 30 m that I set beforehand and then I got a Battery Overcurrent Discharge Warning - at which point it then rocketed up 850 feet out of sight. Tried stopping the RTH and I also tried bringing it down manually but nothing worked until it got to the max altitude, at which point I then had to manually land it which was fine, but freaked me out because I couldn't see it beyond the video / GPS.

I tried reading into it, but the only threads I found were related to sports mode and temperature related issues. From what I understand, the warning shouldn't trigger an increase in ascent velocity (from a point of 0 velocity to begin with). Also, watching the flight log on the app, the vertical speed is 0 while the mavic swiftly launches to 850 ft in the air.

The weather was ideal too for playing around.

Any help understanding this more would be appreciated. I synched my flight info with Airdata to try to get more info out of the flight, but I'm not entirely sure how to look further into the issue.

Reactions: radman
Check out your TXT flight log to see if it explains what happened. You can upload and view it online here. If you'd like other people to review and comment on your flight log, then please post a link back here after you upload it.

Reactions: Timbo~SYD