DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RTH message

Brevanskc

Reactions
Used the RTH feature for the first time (twice) today. A message on the controller appeared "aircraft is returning to home. Minimum RTH altitude is set to 98 ft. You can reset RTH altitude in Remote Controller Settings after cancelling RTH." Don't want to reset the altitude. Not sure why I got the message. Each flight altitude was well over 100’. Did I accidentally touch a button or move one of the sticks during the process or is this a normal message? I am still very new to this and still learning.

Used the RTH feature for the first time (twice) today. A message on the controller appeared "aircraft is returning to home. Minimum RTH altitude is set to 98 ft. You can reset RTH altitude in Remote Controller Settings after cancelling RTH." Don't want to reset the altitude. Not sure why I got the message. Each flight altitude was well over 100’. Did I accidentally touch a button or move one of the sticks during the process or is this a normal message? I am still very new to this and still learning.
you do not say which mavic you are talking about ,but the message is just that, a message telling you what the RTH height is currently set at
before you fly you need to look around your surroundings, and check for high trees or structures in the area where you intend to fly, and then set a RTH height which will be above the tallest one ,i find 40m or 120ft to be a good choice for most rural flying as there are very few trees that tall, when you press the RTH if the drone is below the preset RTH height then it will go to that height before returning, if you were flying at say 200ft then it would return at that height, also remember that if it is closer than 60m from home point then it will just land where it is if you press RTH, hope this helps