Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

RTH Won't Set When Using Controller as RTH Point

Dariof

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
36
Location
Henderson, NV
RTH is not a problem at all when using the takeoff point as the setting. I use it all the time and have all altitudes set properly for my geographic locations.

But, the other day and just for fun, I decided to change the RTH point from the takeoff spot to the controller. But I received a message saying RTH could not be set to the controller. Location setting is "ON" in my Ipad Mini 4. I also have strong WiFi if that matters at all.

Any suggestions?
 

Anthony Viscomi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
2,822
Reaction score
1,377
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Does you iPad have GPS (ie. cellular)
 

Dariof

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
36
Location
Henderson, NV
Does you iPad have GPS (ie. cellular)
It has GPS for maps but does not have cellular. However, it receives the WiFi signal from my phone (Hotspot) so my IPad does have both GPS and WiFi.
 

Anthony Viscomi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
2,822
Reaction score
1,377
Location
Philadelphia, PA
It has GPS for maps but does not have cellular. However, it receives the WiFi signal from my phone (Hotspot) so my IPad does have both GPS and WiFi.
That's not quite how it works... @msinger can chime in on this one.
 

Neebles

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
461
Reaction score
268
Age
40
It has GPS for maps but does not have cellular. However, it receives the WiFi signal from my phone (Hotspot) so my IPad does have both GPS and WiFi.
Unfortunately, it definitely doesn’t work like that. Your phone doesn’t “share” GPS data even when being used as a hotspot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pk1118

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
20,900
Reaction score
11,303
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
It has GPS for maps but does not have cellular.
Are you saying the cell service has not been enabled or is it a Wi-Fi only iPad Mini model?
 

Dariof

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
36
Location
Henderson, NV
Are you saying the cell service has not been enabled or is it a Wi-Fi only iPad Mini model?
Wi-Fi only. I use my Android phone as a hotspot and my Mini 4 (which is attached to the Mavic controller ) picks up the Wi-Fi signal from my cell.
 
Last edited:

msinger

DJI Drone Expert
Approved Vendor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
20,900
Reaction score
11,303
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Ah, that's your problem then. You cannot share GPS data over a hot spot. You'll either need to use a different mobile device or connect some type of external GPS receiver to your iPad Mini.

Here are some commonly used Bluetooth GPS receivers that'll work if you decide to go that route:
 
Last edited:

Dariof

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
36
Location
Henderson, NV
Ah, that's your problem then. You cannot share GPS data over a hot spot. You'll either need to use a different mobile device or connect some type of external GPS receiver to your iPad Mini.

Here are some commonly used Bluetooth GPS receivers that'll work if you decide to go that route:
Thank you....appreciate everyone’s help.
 

HWCM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2017
Messages
388
Reaction score
176
Age
46
Wi-Fi only. I use my Android phone as a hotspot and my Mini 4 (which is attached to the Mavic controller ) picks up the Wi-Fi signal from my cell.
Why do you do that? It is not needed.