DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Some GPS Observations

bkushner

Reactions
Well after a weekend of flying I've figured one thing about about my M3 and RC Pro...If I have the RC Pro connected to my phone hotspot with Wifi I can acquire Sat Lock around 2 minutes. If RC Pro has no internet it takes 4-5 minutes...Here is wrench in the program, I'm new to the RC Pro. About 3 weeks. Prior I used the Stock controller with an Android phone that had cell service and it didn't speed my sat locks.

It is hard to figure out the right combo. My RC Pro's sit unused in favor of the standard controller with cellular activated tablet. Today, had a five minute time to first fix and it annoyed the heck out of me. DJI still has work to do. I 1000% believe it can and will be fixed but the slow delivery from DJI to resolve is concerning.

There is anew FW coming out that will address the GPS concerns but might come with an Anti-Roll back feature so you will not be able to downgrade again.
I believe you . . . can you expound on this any further? Timeline?

I have no idea in regards to timeline unfortunately.
Thank you Suren . . . after my last visit to the DJI forum and the disrespectful normality of it all (not to mention the un-throttled threats going unchecked). . . I can't risk my sanity (over there) anymore 😞. I'll get my info directly from you sir ;).

There is anew FW coming out that will address the GPS concerns but might come with an Anti-Roll back feature so you will not be able to downgrade again.
Isn't the .600 FW already anti-rollback?

Nope, with the 0600 you can still roll back to 0400 FW.