DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Stuttering recording (high contrast especially)

Simbstah

Reactions
Hi!

I'm new to this whole game and just recently got my mavic pro, best "toy" i've ever had!

Got a small problem (except for the whole gimball motor overloaded crap) when recording.
Found it stuttering a lot when i first got it, bought some ND filters since everyone kept saying you need em for high light filming, but I keep getting the stuttering, especially light areas (White car in the clip).
I dont know if im expecting too much of the drone of if i forgot some obvious setting or something but its really bugging me out.

I've checked the source file and the stuttering is the same as on the uploaded version, its much more noticeable when moving the drone faster, but its ALWAYS there.

Any tips would be nice!

You can try downgrading the firmware one version and see what happens.

There have been 4-6 updates since i got it, and it seems to be the same on every version. It got a LITTLE better when i used ND16(as seen in the clip), but i want that smooooooooth recording. =/
But thanks for the input!

I believe that he stated he has inspected the source video file when he typed "I've checked the source file and the stuttering is the same as on the uploaded version, its much more noticeable when moving the drone faster, but its ALWAYS there."
However, please validate that this statement means you have removed the SD card from the Mavic Pro itself and then downloaded the video from that card and that the stuttering you mention is present in that footage.

Also, Just installing an ND filter (in your case ND 16 ) does not automatically solve this issue. One must set thier shutter speed to double that of the frame rate. i.e. 30 FPS and 1/60th of a second shutter speed. One must also manage the ISO that is associated with those settings.