DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

SUNSET PHOTOS

Peeta Howard

Reactions
Hi,I'm new to droning with a DJI Air2S. Can anyone tell me the best settings for sunset / rise photos (Not interested in cine!) Many thanks in anticipation.

Hi,I'm new to droning with a DJI Air2S. Can anyone tell me the best settings for sunset / rise photos (Not interested in cine!) Many thanks in anticipation.
Here's one person's opinions and suggestions on a rainy morning when flying is off the table. I hope you'll hear from others, too.

There are no "best" settings for sunrises and sunsets, because people's preferences and interests vary so much. The right settings are the ones that produce photos that you like.

Try putting the drone in auto mode and tapping the screen in various places to alter the exposure until you find something that looks good to you. Tap on a darker region to lighten the exposure and tap on a brighter region to darken the exposure.

Or use manual mode with a low ISO setting and try various shutter (and aperture, if your drone has variable aperture) settings. I'm amazed at how stable drones can be and what slow shutter speeds can be used, but I try to keep shutter speed to 1/60 or faster.

You might also use the Auto Exposure Bracketing feature to fine tune the exposure on a particular shot.

Many people concentrate on the sun, but it's often just a highly overexposed dot. I lean toward making the interesting parts of the sky, reflections on water, or ground surfaces the main feature. Many of my favorite sunrise/sunset photos were shot with the sun below the horizon.

The scenes in sunrises and sunsets change rapidly. Get ready and start looking early and keep looking later. Often a somewhat blah scene becomes spectacular when a cloud passes or a reflection appears.

Look behind you, too. The light opposite the sun sometimes creates interesting images.