DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Tap-to-Fly Crash Using DJI Goggles

IndianaHoosiers

Reactions
Okay, so this is at least mostly pilot error but I still need to vent about it.

I received my DJI goggles this afternoon and was on my maiden voyage with them. Everything was going fantastic at first; the goggles are incredible (I have had the Mavic for about two months and consider myself to be a capable pilot during normal operation). Then I flipped the 5D stick down as usual to point the camera at the ground to land...except that the 5D vertical flip no longer controlled the camera; it controlled the flight mode.

Somehow in this mess (it happened VERY quickly; I have not yet attempted to reproduce the issue), I ended up in Tap-to-Fly mode, which I have never used before and was unaware of how it worked. All of a sudden my Mavic is driving directly towards the street with that stupid green arrow line and all I see in the goggles is my altitude dropping like I'm in a death spiral with two dead sticks. This all happened so quickly that I wasn't even aware of what happened at first; it wasn't until I researched the issue afterwards that I realized that Tap-to-Fly was a flight mode.

The first thing I did was hit that pause button which had no effect. Luckily, in my panic and button mashing of the controller, I tapped somewhere on my iPhone screen that yawed the Mavic to the right so that it hit one of my neighbor's large white pines, followed by a drop in to nice, soft bushes. I was very lucky; it could just as easily hit someone or something not so forgiving. Needless to say, I was freaked out. Luckily, the Magic didn't have a scratch on it (but I did have to clean pine tar off of it for about 15 minutes).