DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Tight area flight testing

RGallant

Reactions
As a new pilot I need both flight and camera practice, being in Pacific Northwest there are a lot of interesting but tight areas to fly in. So my very small driveway and front yard have become my testing ground.

I record video on every flight to see how I am doing, and to practice edits. It is surprising how close things look in the video

Lots of annoying but useful collision beeps, the flights are short 4-6 minutes but I am getting smoother (slowly). I have a short video attached nothing brilliant, but it gives you an idea of what I am aiming for. I am on the hunt for a good location to to run a good proper test on.

I have added my handheld GPS, to my gear bag as check to to confirm GPS Sat locks & numbers as good amount of this will under some tree canopy. With the hand held I can walk some of the area's 1st. to make sure I have a decent number of satellites.

Hope to have something interesting a maybe a bit different in a few weeks.

An idea of the kind of places I hope to fly, however more interesting than a road in the forest and not quite a exciting as the second although it is possible if some care is taken.

bQtEpMn.jpg

This creek would be great starting where I took the photo and flying down towards the log bridging over and then to the bridge just past. In late summer is much less active so you "might" be able to get a bit lower.

geIGSot.jpg

You will see I struggle with smooth, I am hoping that will come with more practice.

As a new pilot I need both flight and camera practice, being in Pacific Northwest there are a lot of interesting but tight areas to fly in. So my very small driveway and front yard have become my testing ground.
If you're a new flyer, stay away from trees, buildings and other obstacles.
Flying close to obstacles is very risky and the obstacle avoidance can easily be fooled by thin branches.