Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

UAV Forecast not working in Canada

sbrooker

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
4
Age
33
Is anyone else in Canada having trouble with UAV forecast on iPhone? Usually it shows all airports in my area. But when I went to use the app yesterday nothing is there except the DJI NFZ's. I tried changing my distance settings for airports and heliports but still nothing. Tried a phone reset too. Any help is appreciated
 

j.r.r.

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
124
Reaction score
65
Age
64
Location
Toronto, ON
Looks like this happens on my Samsung Note 4 as well as my PC:

upload_2018-7-6_13-20-54.png upload_2018-7-6_13-21-44.png
 

pvs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
44
Age
64
Location
WNC
This issue started for me late last night/early this morning. I am not in Canada (though these days, I wish).

I really like this app, and was seriously thinking about buying a year subscription, but now this issue started.

Have either of you found a solution?

FWIW, I am trying to use it on a Samsung Galaxy S8.
 

pvs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
44
Age
64
Location
WNC
Just checked.
Here in south-western Ontario UAV is only displaying DJI No Fly Zones.
Using Samsung S8.
Thanks for replying. I left a message on their (UAV Forecast's) own forum a few moments ago. Maybe somebody there can shed some light.

Hmmm...both of us on Samsung S8's eh? I wonder if it's related.
 

Ken K

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
375
Reaction score
230
Age
75
Location
North Perth (Listowel), ON, Canada
Thanks for replying. I left a message on their (UAV Forecast's) own forum a few moments ago. Maybe somebody there can shed some light.

Hmmm...both of us on Samsung S8's eh? I wonder if it's related.
I don't think the S8 is a factor. The OP was using an Apple device and the second poster reported the problem on his PC so it looks like all platforms are affected.
 

pvs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
44
Age
64
Location
WNC
Hey! I just checked and it looks like it's been fixed. Must've been something on their end.

How bout you guys up in Canada?
 

Ken K

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
375
Reaction score
230
Age
75
Location
North Perth (Listowel), ON, Canada
Hey! I just checked and it looks like it's been fixed. Must've been something on their end.

How bout you guys up in Canada?
Looks like they updated their database.
If so, they missed a "medium airport" (Waterloo Region International) here in s-w ON.
 

pvs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
44
Age
64
Location
WNC
Looks like they updated their database.
If so, they missed a "medium airport" (Waterloo Region International) here in s-w ON.
oops!
 

coindex765

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
21
Location
Barrie ontario
On my Samsung S8 it is showing waterloo region medium airport along with the Kitchener heliport so I don't know what you guys are talking about with the app not working/???? More likely an update on your phones possibly? I have mine set on auto update so its constantly done
 

Ken K

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
375
Reaction score
230
Age
75
Location
North Perth (Listowel), ON, Canada
On my Samsung S8 it is showing waterloo region medium airport along with the Kitchener heliport so I don't know what you guys are talking about with the app not working/???? More likely an update on your phones possibly? I have mine set on auto update so its constantly done
When I made post #9 the Regional airport and heliport were not shown.
When I posted #11 they were shown.
Probably their database was just being updated and your check came after the update. I imagine the app checks the database for updates every time it is opened in order to stay current.
The make/model of phone would not matter.
 

pvs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
106
Reaction score
44
Age
64
Location
WNC
On my Samsung S8 it is showing waterloo region medium airport along with the Kitchener heliport so I don't know what you guys are talking about with the app not working/???? More likely an update on your phones possibly? I have mine set on auto update so its constantly done
It seems to have been a temporary issue on their (UAV Forecast's) part. It has been fixed since post#7 of this thread.

Looking back into this forum's posts, this seems to happen occasionally. Not complaining about the app ... it's fantastic, but the problem had me scratching my head when it was going on.

Sorry for the confusion.
 

coindex765

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2019
Messages
32
Reaction score
21
Location
Barrie ontario
It seems to have been a temporary issue on their (UAV Forecast's) part. It has been fixed since post#7 of this thread.

Looking back into this forum's posts, this seems to happen occasionally. Not complaining about the app ... it's fantastic, but the problem had me scratching my head when it was going on.

Sorry for the confusion.
That sounds like a good possibility that the app does that
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
70,529
Messages
816,493
Members
97,660
Latest member
Wrentka7