DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Want to get a drone help with rules

Jakebake

Reactions
Hello everyone! I've been a photographer for awhile and wanted to get into real estate photography and then I started getting into video pretty recently and it's been a been a blast. This brought me to want to do some real estate video and now I'm thinking s out getting a drone. Was thinking about getting the mavic 2 pro. I started diving into the rules and where you can fly and it has just been overwhelming. I live in chandler arizona. As I dont even know how to fly yet I wanted to he able to fly from my backyard to get the hang of it or even use my house as practice for real estate drone video. I downloaded the b4ufly app and it seems like you cant fly anywhere without notice? And there are so many restrictions but no mention of fines or consequences. I dont want to get my 107 yet until I know it's for me. I've also seen stuff where I guess dji can stop your drone from taking off in certain areas so what if you need to do a shoot and then you cant take off? Seems like it's a huge hassle to even be able to fly at all. Help me understand this! Thanks

Without knowing exactly where you intend to fly it's difficult to give much help. Chandler appears to be relatively free from any serious flight restrictions. The apps that are out there can sometimes be confusing or even incorrect but they are getting better. My advice is to go first to the DJI geo zone site below, determine your exact location, and then determine what restrictions you may have on a flight. These are the zones that will be embedded in your aircraft. A left mouse click on a zone will bring up more information.

Last edited:
In areas where Low-Altitude Authorization and Notification Capability (LAANC) is available, you can get almost-instant authorization to fly. AirMap or KittyHawk are also great apps to have.