DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What video editing software are you all using?

hidaven

Reactions
Premiere Pro cs6 and elements 15 wont accept the d-log codec. What other software can I use that you all have tried with success and EASE which is most important......Thx

Anything cheaper to ease into this? What about Magic premiere? What would the various software need to do to handle the MP2’s h365 and d-log?

H: i’m certainly no expert and I have zero experience with the shareware versions of video editors so I can’t help you with that. But from my limited knowledge editing in Premiere, I can tell you that the answer to your question pretty much boils down to the resolution of the footage you’ll be editing.

HD is probably not a problem for most quality shareware editors but once you jump up to 4K, it’s a whole different ball of wax. Then of course there’s the power of the more expensive programs and the huge variety of editing tools they provide and then there’s the required horsepower and graphics capability of your confuser. I suppose it simply depends on how good you want your videos to look.

You could Google “video editing software bottlenecks“ and that will probably tell you what you need to know. Hope that helps

KB

FinalCut supports h.265 natively... or so I’ve heard.

Resolve supports h.265, but I think only if you buy the Studio version.

Both of those are about $300.00

Or use ffmpeg to convert your footage to h.264

^ lol

First flight tonight and Resolve (free) cannot open the H.265 HEVC files created by the drone. :-(

EDIT: found this article: Transcode and Import H.265/HEVC to DaVinci Resolve |

Downloaded the free resolve and it opens it fine. I just need a degree in quantum mechanics to figure it out.....lol. Question, if I film in h.265 and convert to h.264 do I still retain all the wonderful benefits of h.265? Oh, and the free version does handle 4K.