Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

WiFi or GPS

letsgofly

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
4
Reactions
1
Age
66
I am a greenhorn at this. I really like this forum.Ihave learned a lot here. I purchased a mavic air 5 days ago and have some questions. I am linked to gps. I guess that is all I need to fly? When would I need WiFi. I’m using an iPad mini 4. There is a map on my screen. I’ve seen some talk in this forum about caching maps? Did miss something.


Thanks
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod

Maverick joe

Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2018
Messages
9
Reactions
1
Age
61
Hi guys

New forum member

Can you please see tell me what is a good free editing software
to use as I have taken some great video footage which want to some editing
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,941
Reactions
1,258
Age
63
Location
Peterborough, UK
Hi guys

New forum member

Can you please see tell me what is a good free editing software
to use as I have taken some great video footage which want to some editing
Maybe you’ll get better responses if you create your own thread instead of hijacking someone else’s!
 
  • Like
Reactions: genesimmons

Bunny Too

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
5,278
Reactions
2,203
I am a greenhorn at this. I really like this forum.Ihave learned a lot here. I purchased a mavic air 5 days ago and have some questions. I am linked to gps. I guess that is all I need to fly? When would I need WiFi. I’m using an iPad mini 4. There is a map on my screen. I’ve seen some talk in this forum about caching maps? Did miss something.


Thanks
Howdy from Wyoming @letsgofly , welcome to the community, plenty of fine folk and excellent information here.
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
18,326
Reactions
36,174
Age
66
Location
Amory , MS
I am a greenhorn at this. I really like this forum.Ihave learned a lot here. I purchased a mavic air 5 days ago and have some questions. I am linked to gps. I guess that is all I need to fly? When would I need WiFi. I’m using an iPad mini 4. There is a map on my screen. I’ve seen some talk in this forum about caching maps? Did miss something.


Thanks
Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .:)
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Oct 12, 2016
Messages
18,326
Reactions
36,174
Age
66
Location
Amory , MS
  • Like
Reactions: Maverick joe

RKX

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
530
Reactions
206
Age
49
Location
Woodstock, Ontario Canada
Try google.



Hi guys

New forum member

Can you please see tell me what is a good free editing software
to use as I have taken some great video footage which want to some editing
 
  • Like
Reactions: InvisibleName

RKX

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
530
Reactions
206
Age
49
Location
Woodstock, Ontario Canada
I am a greenhorn at this. I really like this forum.Ihave learned a lot here. I purchased a mavic air 5 days ago and have some questions. I am linked to gps. I guess that is all I need to fly? When would I need WiFi. I’m using an iPad mini 4. There is a map on my screen. I’ve seen some talk in this forum about caching maps? Did miss something.


Thanks



Hello and welcome from Ontario Canada to Mavic Pilots!
And enjoy your stay here, there is a wealth of information to be had so take your time and look around and enjoy reading all the great stuff you can do with your Mavic, :) Feel free to ask any questions you may have and remember the search tool is a great resource to see who may have had a similar issue or may offer a great tip.
Enjoy your day and happy flying :)
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,941
Reactions
1,258
Age
63
Location
Peterborough, UK
I am a greenhorn at this. I really like this forum.Ihave learned a lot here. I purchased a mavic air 5 days ago and have some questions. I am linked to gps. I guess that is all I need to fly? When would I need WiFi. I’m using an iPad mini 4. There is a map on my screen. I’ve seen some talk in this forum about caching maps? Did miss something.


Thanks
Your can’t, currently, download maps using an iOS device. But you can use the map before you lose your iPad’s WiFi connection and cache the area you are going to visit by using your fingers to navigate to that area.
 
Last edited:

Thwyllo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
656
Reactions
326
Age
67
Location
Hautes Pyrenees, SW France
Your can’t, currently, download maps using an iOS device. But you can use the map before you lose your iPad’s WiFi connection and cache the area you are going to visit by using your fingers to navigate to that area.
Can you just run that by me again? The map displayed on DJI Go surely comes from Google Maps, it does on my android phone anyway. And Google Maps lets you download "offline maps" which can be as big as your phone's storage can handle...surely a WhyPhone can do the same?
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,941
Reactions
1,258
Age
63
Location
Peterborough, UK
Can you just run that by me again? The map displayed on DJI Go surely comes from Google Maps, it does on my android phone anyway. And Google Maps lets you download "offline maps" which can be as big as your phone's storage can handle...surely a WhyPhone can do the same?
In a word - no it can’t (actually, 3,words!)
 

Thwyllo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
656
Reactions
326
Age
67
Location
Hautes Pyrenees, SW France
In a word - no it can’t (actually, 3,words!)

Don't sweat the typo, there are only three kinds of people you know; those that can count and those that can't.... :)

I'm not an Apple fan but that's a real wowser. Given it's a function of the Google Maps app, is it disabled because of some Apple 'thing'?

The Offline Maps function appears in what I'm guessing is a Google ID in the Maps sidebar...perhaps that's the restriction - can you have a Google ID on a WhyPhone? I assume this means you can't use Google Maps as a satnav unless you've got mobile data enabled? That's something you don't need on the Android version. I have virtually the whole of France stored, taking up around 300mb.

Sorry for this diversion, I'm just interested.
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,941
Reactions
1,258
Age
63
Location
Peterborough, UK
In a word - no it can’t
Don't sweat the typo, there are only three kinds of people you know; those that can count and those that can't.... :)

I'm not an Apple fan but that's a real wowser. Given it's a function of the Google Maps app, is it disabled because of some Apple 'thing'?

The Offline Maps function appears in what I'm guessing is a Google ID in the Maps sidebar...perhaps that's the restriction - can you have a Google ID on a WhyPhone? I assume this means you can't use Google Maps as a satnav unless you've got mobile data enabled? That's something you don't need on the Android version. I have virtually the whole of France stored, taking up around 300mb.

Sorry for this diversion, I'm just interested.
You can download maps in the Google map app (and yes, you can log in to your Google ID), there just isn't this function inside the DJI Go app. and, before you ask, downloading the map in the Google map app doesn't make it visible in the DJI Go app - I've tried!! It's a bummer!!
 

Thwyllo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2018
Messages
656
Reactions
326
Age
67
Location
Hautes Pyrenees, SW France
You can download maps in the Google map app (and yes, you can log in to your Google ID), there just isn't this function inside the DJI Go app. and, before you ask, downloading the map in the Google map app doesn't make it visible in the DJI Go app - I've tried!! It's a bummer!!

Ah ok so that's a different issue. And you've tried this with location services OFF on your phone so that the app would be forced (if it was able) to use an offline map?

Certainly on my android, if I don't want to pay for mobile data but say I use the satnav capability in Google Maps, I just download an offline map, turn off location services except GPS, and it plans a route and navigates using the offline map. Works the same when I'm using the drone. Offline Google map and only GPS enabled, all works fine...I'm puzzled as to why an iOS version of DJIGo wouldn't do the same, but then...Steve Jobs
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,941
Reactions
1,258
Age
63
Location
Peterborough, UK
Ah ok so that's a different issue. And you've tried this with location services OFF on your phone so that the app would be forced (if it was able) to use an offline map?

Certainly on my android, if I don't want to pay for mobile data but say I use the satnav capability in Google Maps, I just download an offline map, turn off location services except GPS, and it plans a route and navigates using the offline map. Works the same when I'm using the drone. Offline Google map and only GPS enabled, all works fine...I'm puzzled as to why an iOS version of DJIGo wouldn't do the same, but then...Steve Jobs
I can do all you can using the Google Maps app, just not inside the DJI Go app!
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
104,028
Messages
1,205,084
Members
132,728
Latest member
DjiNapoli