DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Worried about salt air croading the electronics

Bill Shryock

Reactions
Hello all,

I'm new to the quad world, I've had my Pro Platinum for just over a month. I have worked with electronics most of my life and I have a concern with my Mavic. Last week I went to Gulf Shores, AL and flew on the beach for two days. My concern is the salt spray and salt air on the electronics. By the time I left the beach both days I could feel the salt spray on my body so I know that the Mavic inhaled quite a bit of salty air through the cooling system. My concern is that I may have started a slow process of corrosion that will eventually destroy the drone from the inside.

Do any of you have any incite or suggestions? I messaged DJI a week ago and I haven't received an answer so I'm guessing that I never will. Am I worried about nothing or is there anything I should do? I'm very aware of what salt water and electricity will do, that is why I'm concerned.

Any incite, suggestions or experiences will be appreciated.

Thank you for your input.

Bill

Everything has a use by date, usage in a hostile environment could hasten that date.
I would envisage that a Mavic could possibly have a usability of say 2 years? If you are going to fly in a salt air scenario often, I would at least halve that.
@Thunderdrones would have a more 'edjumacated' comment on the Total Time of the Mavic I'm sure.

Reactions: Former Member
The main components that would be open to damage are any of your connectors on the boards, the cooling fan, the motors, and the battery terminals. The main and core boards have a shiny water resistant coating on them that protects the solder joints and battery terminals on those boards.