DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Would you buy a 3D FPV VR/AR DJI Drone App for Oculus Quest 1 / 2 / Pro?

Is this useful for you : using your Oculus Quest 1 / 2 / Pro as an FPV headset for Mavic 2 & older?

• Total voters

roguestar

Reactions
Hi. I'm a drone app developer, and I'm currently targeting an VR FPV implementation on the Quest 1/2/Pro for DJI Mavic 2s + some older models. I'm curious if people in this forum will find a "generalized FPV with VR/AR capabilities" is something that would be useful for you. Also, how much would you buy for a VR FPV app that can utilize all your Mavic 2 + older drones? Here's a list of DJI drones I'm targeting DJI Mobile SDK 4 Supported Aircraft
I'm also thinking of implementing a mission planner + editor, 3D maps, 2D maps, and possibly a "VR cockpit" so you can feel youre piloting your drone in VR. Though some of the DJI cameras only reach 30 FPS, I still think it would be a good FPV experience, especially for Mini or Spark drones. I'm also implementing touch controller interfaces with Quest 3D hand controllers.
Would you all find this kind of VR app, and utilizing a "general FPV headset" that works for more than 1 drone useful? Please let me know!

Sounds cool, did you get around the connection issues?
Im building the app right now, and haven't gone for long-flight testing quite yet. I'm starting with short range, since I want to make the VR controls perfect (head controls + hand controls, to be specific)

I would be interested... but very, very cautious. The sensors on the quest are not for use in sunlight...
yeah thats fine. You can just stay in a car and be seated, while controlling a drone. You can also do Sitting Mode on the quest which is the default for having it not worry about sensors.

My focus is getting a VR cockpit environment, while controlling the FPV environment.