DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

AMA announced as the first FAA recognized CBO.

KI5RLL

Reactions
So those of us who are already long-standing AMA members, got this email yesterday.
So there is progress in this front finally!
We will see what happens with this. I expect a lot of information to be coming soon on a lot of topics. And we can finally expect some declarative answers, at least we can hope.
Progress!
2935B790-E280-4658-859E-1E7335222B58.jpeg

Ok, for another $75 a year (I'm over 65) I can be legal again? Am I getting this right?

Ok, for another $75 a year (I'm over 65) I can be legal again? Am I getting this right?

Legal again? I'm not sure I'm following your logic there.

Legal again? I'm not sure I'm following your logic there.
My perception was that once CBO's were available as a drone pilot I had to join one and adhere to their guidelines as a part of being a legal pilot under FAA regulations.

I can not answer that as yes or no. Depends on what you plan and want to fly.
Will leave a direct answer to that for the other members here. There shall be debate, soon.

Here’s what we know so far:
AMA can now apply for FAA FRIA for club flying sites. A great many flying clubs do require AMA Membership to fly there. They can apply for FRIA now. So that operators/pilots can fly in those FRIA sites and be FAA legal (under FRIA rules).
Yes many flying fields DO require AMA membership to be a member of their flying field and club to use it. Like the flying field I am a member with. But I only fly fixed wing there now because we have a great runway and facilities there.
So as an AMA member, you would have access under FRIA there to fly at an AMA site, once that field is FAA FRIA certified/registered/listed or whatever they plan to call it.
If you plan and want to fly in a FRIA site yourself.
Other Forums members and pilots—input please?

Safe Flying,
KI5RLL

Reactions: SmilingOgre