DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

4k video snapshot v actual photo

RonanCork

Reactions
Hey Guys,

Using my Mavic Air - I recently shot some footage of a castle (4k - 24fps or 3fps). I also took a load of photos too (with the recommended settings from online posts, i.e shoot in raw, use AEB, etc).

When I loaded the photos into Lightroom and did some editing (I'm a beginner-ish at this, well 6 months of it) I wasn't blown away by the photos - they were ok. So I (in VLC) played some of the videos I took and grabbed screenshots/snapshot from them (using from the menu: Video > Take Snapshot). These snapshots from the video (after I edited in Lightroom) seem, to me, to look better that the photos I took!

Am I going mad here ?

On a side-note to me I find it strange that the MA has a 12MP camera but my Huawei Phone (p20) has 20MP.

Thanks Ro

Screen grabs from video can look nice- properly shot stills should be better.

As has been suggested share some images (with settings) And you should get helpful suggestions. We might also make recommendations about what you could do in your post processing workflow.

Do you also find it strange your phone doesn’t fly and your drone can’t make phone calls?

Reactions: NZmxer and GarthH
Hey Guys,

Sorry for delay. Sure, let me dig out some and I'll post here for comparison. Just thinking it would have made sense for me to add these photos for comparison in my original message ;-))

Thanks Ronan

Hey Guys,

Using my Mavic Air - I recently shot some footage of a castle (4k - 24fps or 3fps). I also took a load of photos too (with the recommended settings from online posts, i.e shoot in raw, use AEB, etc).