DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

This is my first time using YouTube Editor . I dont think its for me , what do y'all think?

• I have used Youtube Editor and i like it

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Here's my two cents: Before I got my 107, I did not know about the 500/2000 ft rule for clouds. I also didnt know about the visibility rule, not withstanding the VLOS and 400 foot rule, and several more rules that apply to 107 pilots. If you are a hobbyist and you are not accessing 107 material, you may not know that that rule even exists. (I've been flying for over 17 years, and never knew it) The FAA has the cloud rule under part 107 regulations, so while I personally wouldnt fly above the clouds (as a hobbyist), I could see how people think it is not illegal to do so, again not withstanding the common "Community Based Organization" rules.
Back in my younger days, I had a ultralight trike and was learning to fly with an instructor.

300px-Pegasus_quantum_15-912_microlight_g-byff_kemble_arp.jpg (not me, but I had the exact same one)

We had no radio and flew through the clouds several times and I always thought that what if another plane happened to be there. I realize a drone is alot smaller than an ultralight trike, but my point is, at least back then, the FAA seemed a little less restrictive than what they would later become with drones.

IMG_0527.jpgIMG_0528.jpg

Same mountain same take off point from the video . Its on Fire I took this with my phone today .
It odd the smoke is in the same place the fog was I filmed a few weeks ago {:4_167:}