DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

"Activation" and internet/data requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

droneybear

Reactions
Background: I’ve done some small-scale RC flying in the past, and I did the “toy” quadcopters some years back, but I’m new to DJI and the world of modern drones.

Current: friend and I have a Mini-2, and have some questions about activation and data that goes out from both the drone itself and/or the app. Some of what I *thought* was true at the time of purchase about less-than-250g being unregulated isn’t strictly true, but what I’m not okay doing is sending *any* data to DJI, and we’re not going to create a *#!^@! "DJI account”. I simply want to be able to putz around and fly this at a local park, take some videos of the kids or maybe on a hike where there’s some open space. Simple stuff. Eventually I will also want to get into the developer SDK(s), just for fun, but other than knowing that’s something I’m capable of, it may be a different topic.

I’ve been rummaging through this forum and the web at large for a couple hours now, and this link: How to Make Sure Your DJI Drone Isn't Sharing Your Data talks about some of the issues in the past, and LDM, etc., but 1) I’m not sure it’s up-to-date. 2) I’ve heard there have been firmware changes over time that will change the equation.

I’ve also read through this thread: Why do you need internet connectivity? which answers the question of requiring internet While You Fly, but doesn’t talk about the activation issue and what’s required as far as an “account”. I’m not giving DJI any real email address for them to track, for example.