DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Additional GPS Tracker

Angel1058

Reactions
hi

I had a Phantom 2 ( still have ) - but with the reports of many flyaways, i attached a separate ( cheap / small) GPS tracker to it, so i could ping the tracker and hopefully, it would tell me how far back to china my Phantom had made it before crashing. Fortunately, never had to use it. Would you advocate doing the same with my Mavic? It's a stunning bit of kit which I'd hate to lose, and there are a few youtubes mentions flyaways. Thoughts?

Cheers

Definitely worth the small investment, to enable you to track your bird if all fails, and you end up in a flyaway situation.
I am pretty new to the Mavic Pro, and I have ordered a TrackR Bravo for my own piece of mind, which despite being a small disc like tracker is pretty accurate, and less than £25 is value for money.

....and I have ordered a TrackR Bravo for my own piece of mind, which despite being a small disc like tracker is pretty accurate, and less than £25 is value for money.

That answers it then. I have a Chinese TKStar - again, cheap, does the job. Will look at the one you have though - good to have alternatives.

That answers it then. I have a Chinese TKStar - again, cheap, does the job. Will look at the one you have though - good to have alternatives.

It is a blue tooth tracker - how will that help if the mavic clears off miles away? Or have it got it wrong? The one i am using - you can text it, and it gives you a google map location back. - accurate to within a few feet.

I think I have ordered the wrong tracking device, Thanks Angel1058, it's mine that is Bluetooth based which needs to utilise crowd GPS, it's not a concept I am familiar with, and will be purchasing a real time tracking device, the TKStar does look like it ticks all the boxes.
I am looking for a waterproof small tracking device with adequate battery life.