DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Advice on Insurance amount

Emexrulsier

Reactions
Hey all, I am new to the world of Drone, I recommended to my company that we get one purely for using on site for surveys and aerial photograpy that we may use for websites marketing etc. All work is to only be carried out on company premises, but we still need public liablity insurance. My question is how much /shrug.

I am in the UK, and going to all the sites for quotes they ask you how much you want, often starting at £1,000,000 up to around £25,000,000. I am not wanting to cover the drone itself, just liabilty but it all seems very vague. My risks to public would be very low but the questions all seems to be based on "how long is a piece of string".

So from advice from all you frequent drone flyers, possibly people who are using them like myself, restricted to within certain locations what would you recommend as a minimum?

I don't think any insurance company would take your word about only flying at a certain area.
My insurance company only has one policy for drones. It includes the cost of the drone and any damages i may cause.
I don't know of any that offer a variety of drone policies BUT I live in the U.S.
AND Welcome to the Forum from Bakersfield.

Reactions: Emexrulsier
Yeah the policy quotes I have been getting into do cover me for worldworld flying (baring some countries), I guess its down to an internal risk assessement, but still dunno what amount to get. Unless we say only fly if the elderly are walking past :D

• Haha
Reactions: Cafguy
Unless you can strictly define the potential amount of damages, you should insure based on the value of your assets to protect them from suit/loss.

CAA require minimum of £750,000 for commercial insurance so unless you are doing some particularly demanding flights £1M is all that is required.

Reactions: Emexrulsier
Not sure it works that way in the UK.