DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2 or M2P For First Drone

jbone1072

Reactions
Hello All,

New to the forum. I have been researching drones for a few months now and had finally come to the conclusion that i would get the M2P. With the release of the Air 2 and the much lower price point, this has me second guessing which decision to make.

I plan on using the drone for both personal & business (Real Estate, weddings, etc.) To me, it still looks like the M2P is the superior drone. However, the new Air 2 now looks like the most bang for your buck. Any recommendations on which might be best?

Air 2 for first drone. I went M2P and I simply do not regret my decision. It does everything I want to do. And everything I don’t know how to do. But if I were buying a first drone right now I would buy the A2.

I bought the M2P a few weeks after it came out after weeks of research and realized it was revolutionary to what was in the market at the time.

For a first drone the Air 2 is a dream. Yes, you can go with the M2P and you won't regret it for sure but the Air 2 is an amazing drone (or is promising to be one) and quite unbelievable when it comes down to value for money. But, if you are not in a hurry, it may be wiser to sit on your money for a while and see if the Air 2 lives upto its promise.

For your first drone... I recommend second hand. You can crash it, learn from it, destroy it by accident for a reasonable price. Then, you can sell the extras. Once you're comfortable, you can THEN splash the cash and buy new. Just an opinion. I started with a Phantom 3 Pro and, once bitten, went for the Phantom 4 Pro (then mavic pro, mavic mini etc).

Air 2 is hard to pass up for it's price....

...but the only thing it can do over the M2P is 60fps4k and a couple extra minutes of flight time due to its reduced size.

And it lacks several important features that the Zoom/Pro are capable of and worth the extra cost: