DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Another Idiot, SuperBowl Flyover...you make the call.

I am still learning to fly. I knew there was FTR for Super Bowl. Is there anyone can help me to understand here:
1. The Super Bowl stadium is close to Temper airport, it is under the airport restriction area, why FAA need to issue a separate FTR?
2. I searched FTR applied to Florida on FAA site on 2/12/2021, I was not able to find the FTR applied to Temper. See below screenshot. What did I miss?
View attachment 123783
Thanks!
Because an airport is controlled airspace with different boundaries that you can fly within with authorization. A TFR is just that, a "temporary" flight restriction. That's why the airport doesn't show on the TFR list after the Super Bowl TFR has expired. It has it's own permanent airspace restrictions in place.

Here it comes:
2 Men Face Prison After Flying Drones In Super Bowl Airspace
https://patch.com/florida/southtampa/2-men-face-prison-after-flying-drones-super-bowl-airspace
So they use "national defense" as a rationale for imposing TFR around these big sporting events?

Are they afraid of the Black Sunday scenario or something, some bio, chemical or explosive weapons used against players and fans?

Or is it that the NFL and other sports leagues don't want their events filmed by unauthorized parties, potentially making money off them? Imagine if they were allowed to film the game from say 30 feet above the field and streamed live.

Interesting that FBI was scanning the skies and tracking down the pilots. They must have had some equipment for tracking the radio transmissions.

......Or is it that the NFL and other sports leagues don't want their events filmed by unauthorized parties, potentially making money off them? Imagine if they were allowed to film the game from say 30 feet above the field and streamed live......