DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Behold! The Only Extant Mini-2 With Arc X Strobe Power!

That's good to know. I've been wondering about strobe placement for that reason.

Thanks for the info. I just found a hood on Amazon. Might have to pick one up.

You're right - no assistive devices (binoculars) are allowed for VLOS.
I know that's the rule, but I've never quite understood the reason for the rule.

If the objective is for people to be able to see the drone, and binoculars help them do that, why prohibit that from "counting"?

MM...FPV?

I know that's the rule, but I've never quite understood the reason for the rule.

If the objective is for people to be able to see the drone, and binoculars help them do that, why prohibit that from "counting"?

MM...FPV?
Because you are supposed to see your drone all the time while flying VLOS, not just the moment you use the binoculars.

Hi, I'm a newbie to DJI drones, and I struggle to see my Mini 2 more than a couple of hundred yards away. I did a ton of research and picked the Arc V to mount under the drone so I can see it from much further away. I think, even in daylight, that for me, it's a no brainer.

I ordered the strobe, and the tape that came with it stuck to the strobe brilliantly, but not so much the drone. I've bought some small neodynium magnets, (6x4x2mm) and superglued them to a cheap clip-on landing gear I bought, and glued another magnet to the velcro tape that attaches well to the strobe.

The magnets are plenty strong enough after some testing and I can just pull the strobe off in a second if needed. I was thinking of attaching some magnets directly to the chassis, but I'm a bit reluctant to superglue directly onto the drone, especially as it would scrape the strobe on landing. I appreciate that to use the strobe, I need to attach the landing gear, but, it takes a second.