DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Category for Mavic 2 Pro

epp

Premium Pilot
Reactions
Sorry if this has been posted previously and answered earlier. I couldn't find anything.
I'm studying for my Remote Pilot 107 license and learning the categories for Operations Over Non-Participants.
I did a quick surf of the DJI website to determine which of the FAA categories my Mavic 2 Pro would be considered. I'm thinking Category two, but the definitions provided are a bit obscure.
Does anyone know which category my sUAS is considered?
Thank you in advance

Sorry if this has been posted previously and answered earlier. I couldn't find anything.
I'm studying for my Remote Pilot 107 license and learning the categories for Operations Over Non-Participants.
I did a quick surf of the DJI website to determine which of the FAA categories my Mavic 2 Pro would be considered. I'm thinking Category two, but the definitions provided are a bit obscure.
Does anyone know which category my sUAS is considered?
Thank you in advance
None, your M2P doesn’t qualify for Operations Over People until a manufacturer(?) certifies that it won’t lacerate skin and will conform to one of the categories’ max impact spec. It would also need to support RID.

For a Mavic 2 that would likely involve a prop guard/cage and a parachute system. As far as I know DJI hasn’t announced any compliant aircraft.

Great question, good luck with the exam!

Thank you. Very informative. Looks like I'm shopping for a Mavic 3 mini if I want to have sustained flight over "human beings..." :)

Thank you. Very informative. Looks like I'm shopping for a Mavic 3 mini if I want to have sustained flight over "human beings..." :)
In my opinion (only!) we are at the very beginning of accessible drones for flying over people. Now is a good time to wait and see what manufacturers are working on.