DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crash in Tripod Mode - not sure what happened...

fabe13

Reactions
Hello everyone,

I finally crashed my Mavic today and I would like to at least find out how it happened.

I was flying slowly backwards in tripod mode with disabled obstacle avoidance when it suddenly started flying straight up into a tree. It didn't accept any controller input anymore, so no way for me to save it. It actually caught itself after flying into the first branch, but then just continued to rise into the next one which caused it to fall.

Unfortunately, the log seems to have cut out immediately before it happened, so did the video.
Here is the data from the log anyways:

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

Any idea what could have happened?

Best regards,
Fabe

well I am new to drones to Fabe but I can see nothing on the flight log to help apart from fairly a short rapid voltage drop highlighted in yellow which may or may not be significant. did you trigger rth mode by mistake and were the front sensors definitely off? the way you describe the flight is going straight up which is what rth does first to gain height. otherwise interference, you are quite close to a built up area. Hopefully there will be someone on here soon who can help further. final thought when something is wrong for me its usually my fault, settings altered on software update and not checked!

Thanks! RTH was also my first thought, but wouldn't it state that in the log?

Unfortunately, I was too fixed on watching the Mavic to check my phone screen.

Unfortunately, the log seems to have cut out immediately before it happened
Right -- it does not show the crash.

Please upload your DAT flight log to dropbox.com and post a link back here. It'll contain additional details that'll explain what happened. If needed, you can find instructions for retrieving the DAT file here.

Reactions: Zilos