Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

DJI Goggles Altitude/Distance

Boblelezard

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
20
Reactions
6
Age
60
Hi everyone!
I've been flying with my goggles/controller (NO telephone/tablet connected to the controler) for a while now and with no problems whatsoever.... perfect!!
Here comes the bad news: I recently updated ALL the F/Ws (aircraft/controler/goggles), and since then, I cannot fly over 30m altitude and 50m distance, without connecting a phone to the controler ... WTH ???
If someone has the secret, please share :)
Thanks
 
  • Like
Reactions: hdt000gp and radman

Kilrah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
6,519
Solutions
1
Reactions
3,660
Age
39
Location
Switzerland
This was introduced in Mavic Pro firmware 01.03.0800, you now need to connect a phone every time to unlock.
 

Top Hat

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Messages
1,574
Reactions
747
Try to logout then login to your account and see if that works.
 

lisadoc

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
1,020
Reactions
688
Hi everyone!
I've been flying with my goggles/controller (NO telephone/tablet connected to the controler) for a while now and with no problems whatsoever.... perfect!!
Here comes the bad news: I recently updated ALL the F/Ws (aircraft/controler/goggles), and since then, I cannot fly over 30m altitude and 50m distance, without connecting a phone to the controler ... WTH ???
If someone has the secret, please share :)

From this post: "This has nothing to with the goggles. The Mavic with just RC will be distance limited with .800 and later firmware if the phone is not connected (That's the only way it can know you are authenticated/logged in)"

You'll have to rollback your FW (.700 or lower) if you wish to fly with the Goggles only and not be limited by DJI.
 

TrayBoz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
631
Reactions
1,019
Age
52
Location
Dallas, Texas
From my experience with this problem, all you have to do is have the phone or display (DJI GO) connected at initially/ at first, but then you can put it down, disconnect it, turn it off, whatever, and fly with just the goggles. There's just an initial check to see that you're logged in, and after that, you're good to go. I'm not sure what "resets" this trigger; powering off the mavic? or the RC? Kind of a hassle.

I downgraded the firmware to fly in a NFZ (on vacation) for a while, but I re-upgraded to the current firmware version after I learned that the Gimbal-Head-Tracking function was not available in the DJI Goggles with the older firmware, and I love that feature.
 

lisadoc

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
1,020
Reactions
688
I downgraded the firmware to fly in a NFZ (on vacation) for a while, but I re-upgraded to the current firmware version after I learned that the Gimbal-Head-Tracking function was not available in the DJI Goggles with the older firmware, and I love that feature.

You can use mixed module FW and have the best of both. Goggles and all the new app features work as they should, without all the other limitations.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TrayBoz

Boblelezard

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
20
Reactions
6
Age
60
From my experience with this problem, all you have to do is have the phone or display (DJI GO) connected at initially/ at first, but then you can put it down, disconnect it, turn it off, whatever, and fly with just the goggles. There's just an initial check to see that you're logged in, and after that, you're good to go. I'm not sure what "resets" this trigger; powering off the mavic? or the RC? Kind of a hassle.

I downgraded the firmware to fly in a NFZ (on vacation) for a while, but I re-upgraded to the current firmware version after I learned that the Gimbal-Head-Tracking function was not available in the DJI Goggles with the older firmware, and I love that feature.

Hey Tray Boz!
Thanks for the answer. Yeah, it really a hassle, because the other day, I forgot my phone at home and "voilà", no flying beyond 30m/50m.
Would you happen to have the procedure to rollback to .700?
Thanks
 

Boblelezard

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
20
Reactions
6
Age
60
You can use mixed module FW and have the best of both. Goggles and all the new app features work as they should, without all the other limitations.

Hi Lisadoc,
I like that ... tell me more. Do you happen to have a tutorial on the subject?
Thanks
 
Lycus Tech Mavic Air 2 Case

DJI Drone Deals

1. Mini SE - $299
2. Mini 2 - $449
3. Air 2 (renewed) - $649
4. Air 2s - $999
5. FPV Combo - $1299
6. Mavic 2 Zoom - $1349
7. Mavic 2 Pro - $1499

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
108,245
Messages
1,281,728
Members
139,058
Latest member
vietpantado