DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI Mavic Air Active Mode Follow Me. How to automatically change altitude?

Vera

Reactions
Hello, I am a novice user of Mavic Air. When using Active Mode - Follow Me mode - the drone follows me at the same altitude. I want the drone to change altitude too as I descend , for example when skiing. How can I set the drone to change altitude automatically while in Active Follow me mode, please? Thanks

Active Mode is Active Mode... Follow Me is something else.

The Air will change altitude up and down while in Active Mode, however it is some using the downward sensors and these only work up to 30 meters. I have tested its ability to change altitude while going downhill but not lower than 0 altitude (the homepoint). I've also only tested it at around 10' from the ground. I've not looked in a while but altitude change might only be effective up to 8 meters.

What you want the Air to do in this situation is not very practical. IMHO, the software is just not very robust when it comes to changing altitude.

Reactions: Air_Joe
The Mavic Air won't change altitude with you.

Yes it will. It _WILL_ lower it's altitude (even below the home point) as long as the downward sensors are working.
What sub mode of ActiveTrack are you using? Mine just flies straight while I'm on a decline.

Reactions: Vera
Hi tcope, I’m interested in your settings also, I’ve found with APAS enabled active track will ascend while following, when decending the Air remains at the same altitude. There are a lot of YouTube videos that also seem to indicate the same behaviour. Please advise as I’m looking to use this while snowboarding.

Yes it will. It _WILL_ lower it's altitude (even below the home point) as long as the downward sensors are working.

Do I need to change settings? As Mavic Air (active mode) didn’t change altitude lower when I skied downhill ... very confusing.