DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI Mini 3 Best Drone not requiring registration?

quickcut

Reactions
So I am fairly new to drone flying but really love it. I have a DJI Mini 2 that unfortunately I recently crashed and messed up the gimbal. The camera itself is not damaged but the gimbal is.. it seems to still be connected to the wires but I can no longer control the movement of it from my remote.

It looks like fixing this thing could be upwards of $300 which is more than half of what this drone costs new. Since I'm still a novice I'd probably want to get another drone without having to go through registering it. It looks like the DJI Mini 3 is just under half a pound so it wouldn't be required to. Is this the best drone available that doesn't require registration?

Reactions: MA2 317 and GFields
Hello from the Crossroads of America quickcut

It looks like the DJI Mini 3 is just under half a pound so it wouldn't be required to. Is this the best drone available that doesn't require registration?

It's the newest of the sub250 gram drones.

Of course it's better. ;)

I'm not sure about the other Mini 3's, but the PRO model is RID compliant with the FAA and ready to go when implemented.

Please note, any accessories added (strobe, prop guards, etc.) may push the take off weight past 250g and would have to be registered.

It's only five bucks and the numbers look cool.

If you haven't taken the TRUST test yet, you should. It's a free no fail test that's easy to take and you should keep a copy with you when you fly whatever you fly.

I don't have a mini myself, but might be shopping soon for a RID drone. My MA2 didn't make the list (yet).

Good luck, do your research and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Is this the best drone available that doesn't require registration?
It is the current best DJI drone that doesn't require registration.

Reactions: quickcut