Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Does anyone know what is meant by "Altitude Take Off Point above 0 feet, Fly with Caution.

WDKZoom

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
69
Reaction score
76
Age
61
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
From ground level, I do not understand what this is telling me especially since I have taken off from this one spot 10 times or more and I only occasionally get this warning.

WDK
 

boblui

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
281
Reaction score
209
Age
46
Location
Hong Kong
This is just my imagination. When the motors are started, it will set the height to zero. If the height is subsequently changed, e.g, due to the craft being moved to a different spot, this message may come up. Of course no one will pick up the craft after the motors are started. It could be due to sensor errors. Suggest to post the flight logs here for further analysis.
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
12,279
Reaction score
15,533
Location
Los Alamos, NM
From ground level, I do not understand what this is telling me especially since I have taken off from this one spot 10 times or more and I only occasionally get this warning.

WDK
Presumably this a pop-up message in the DJI GO 4 app? I suggest that you post a txt flight log - that may explain what is happening.
 

old man mavic

Fly safe,Fly responsibly,Fly happy
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
7,060
Reaction score
16,350
Age
73
Location
wales UK
like the OP i get the same message from time to time it does not seem to affect the flight in any way ,and has only shown itself since the last app update I am on ios
 

WDKZoom

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
69
Reaction score
76
Age
61
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
I have not experienced any flight problems what so ever though from the reading of it, I am more concerned about what it might do if I had to initiate an RTH and I am having other problems in that I am not able to catch it in flight before it lands.

Does anyone recall the Bruce Willis movie "Die Hard" where the villain by computer lowered the glide path so the plane's computer thought the runway was 10 lower making the trajectory all wrong and the planes crashed into the runway......while the sensors on the Mavic 2 should adjust, it was my first thought when I got this message.

WDK
 

sar104

Dic mihi solum facta, domina.
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 27, 2017
Messages
12,279
Reaction score
15,533
Location
Los Alamos, NM
I have not experienced any flight problems what so ever though from the reading of it, I am more concerned about what it might do if I had to initiate an RTH and I am having other problems in that I am not able to catch it in flight before it lands.

Does anyone recall the Bruce Willis movie "Die Hard" where the villain by computer lowered the glide path so the plane's computer thought the runway was 10 lower making the trajectory all wrong and the planes crashed into the runway......while the sensors on the Mavic 2 should adjust, it was my first thought when I got this message.

WDK
The landing sensors don't rely at all on the recorded takeoff elevation.
 

WDKZoom

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
69
Reaction score
76
Age
61
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
Thank you, as I said I have had no problems in flight but I am wanting to understand as much of this as I can. I am a retired high voltage electrician/lineman, 69KV and above and not one of those people that just turns the key of whatever and not have a clue of how it works.

WDK
 
  • Like
Reactions: old man mavic