DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Does digital sharpening cause chromatic aberrations?

Chapperz

Reactions
I'm just a noob at this so forgive me if I'm missing something or am just ignorant.

I would have thought that sharpening an image would reduce CA because I would assume that it would focus the different frequencies of light on to a smaller point.

Now it might well be me doing something wrong but, with my mini 3 Pro in 48mp mode, the sharpening seems to be exacerbating the issue.

It seems like the sharpening is exacerbating the issue and the noise reduction is just smudging the results...

Or am I imagining it?

It seems like the sharpening is exacerbating the issue and the noise reduction is just smudging the results...
That is generally correct. But there are different techniques to sharpen a photo, and some gives worse result than others. But essentially sharpening works by exaggerating the brightness difference along edges within an image. And CA will be more apparent the more sharpening you apply.
Have a look here, a good guide to sharpening: Guide to Image Sharpening

Reactions: Chapperz
That is generally correct. But there are different techniques to sharpen a photo, and some gives worse result than others. But essentially sharpening works by exaggerating the brightness difference along edges within an image. And CA will be more apparent the more sharpening you apply.
Have a look here, a good guide to sharpening: Guide to Image Sharpening
Ahhhh thanks for confirming that for me... From now on I will be leaving the sharpening to Lr.

Apparently, noise reduction softens an image so it seems counterintuitive to sharpen an image and then de-noise... It's like chasing ya tail as far as I can tell.