DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Does the DJI Mavic Air 2 Have whatever Antenna is required to have Remote ID?

Hello, Does the DJI Mavic Air 2 Have whatever Antenna is required to have Remote ID?
It does have a *receive* antenna. That is how it picks up other aircraft in the vicinity. This is the ADSB System.

The Air 2 would have to be modified to also transmit on it. Significant circuitry would have to be added. I do not know what that would take. It is not a trivial thing to achieve.

This is based on my electronics experience and knowledge. I have been an Amateur Radio Operator since 1980. I do currently build and repair surface mount boards.

• Haha
Reactions: rickmurray1989
It does have a *receive* antenna. That is how it picks up other aircraft in the vicinity. This is the ADSB System.

The Air 2 would have to be modified to also transmit on it. Significant circuitry would have to be added. I do not know what that would take. It is not a trivial thing to achieve.

This is based on my electronics experience and knowledge. I have been an Amateur Radio Operator since 1980. I do currently build and repair surface mount boards.
Uh, no. RID is completely different from ADSB. MOST of the information is already transmitted during the communication between the drone and controller.

Hello, Does the DJI Mavic Air 2 Have whatever Antenna is required to have Remote ID?
Yes. Remote ID can be implemented as a custom data packet going over the Wi-Fi frequencies. The hardware is already in place to support that.

The Air 2 will be RID compliant by 12/31/23. We are still waiting on the FAA to determine if compliance enforcement will be delayed.

Last edited:
Uh, no. RID is completely different from ADSB. MOST of the information is already transmitted during the communication between the drone and controller.
The RID *is* trans by/part of ADSB!

The signals ARE on 1090MHZ!